Peoria Mayor Cathy Carlat was unanimously elected to serve a two-year term as president of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns, an organization committed to supporting local governments throughout the state.

“It is my honor to accept this position and I thoroughly appreciate the confidence of the nominating committee, the executive committee, and all members of the league, who have entrusted me with this responsibility,” says Mayor Carlat. “I look forward to furthering the stellar reputation of the league by advocating for the shared interests of our cities and towns.”

Mayor Carlat has served on the League’s executive committee since August 2015, with the last two years as vice president. As president, Carlat will serve alongside City of Yuma Mayor Douglas J. Nicholls, who was elected vice president, and City of Prescott Mayor Greg Mengarelli, who was elected treasurer.

“Mayor Carlat has been an integral member of the League executive committee for the last five years,” says League Executive Director Tom Belshe. “Her experience and appreciation of governance at the local level will be valuable during her term as president and we look forward to her leadership over the course of the next two years.”

The League of Arizona Cities and Towns is a voluntary membership organization representing all 91 incorporated cities and towns in Arizona. The organization was founded in 1937 and provides vital services and tools to local governments, focusing principally on representing local interests before the legislature, and secondarily on providing technical and legal assistance, and educational support.

League activities are directed by a 25-member executive committee, consisting of mayors and councilmembers from across the state. Members and officers of the executive committee are determined by all League members at the League’s Annual Conference through a process coordinated by a nominating committee.

For information about the League of Arizona Cities and Towns, visit